73rd Reading Scout Troop

Our Scout Troop meets on a Wednesday evening. See below for what we've got planned this term!

Spring 2019

Wed 9th January: First Aid stage 3


Wed 16th January: Jo May percussionist - Spoons


Wed 23rd January: Local knowledge


Wed 30th January: Badge surgery & Emergency Aid 3 scenarios


Wed 6th February: Ice skating - Bracknell, cost TBC. 19:00 - 20:00 + investiture


Wed 13th February: Global Issues Activity Badge
Global Issues Activity Badge Identify where your clothing or other belongings have been made. With other Scouts, talk about why companies might choose to have the items made in other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of overseas production? Investigate a recent natural disaster by looking at photos, news articles or videos online. Decide in small groups what five things were needed to help people after the disaster. Decide as a Troop how best you can help when a natural disaster happens. Find out about an international sporting event and discuss with your Troop how sporting events can contribute to international peace and understanding. In small groups, learn about an international health issue and use a creative way to share what you have learnt with your Troop. Issues could include Malaria, Ebola, HIV and Aids. Think about the rights that we have in the UK (like the right to vote, the right to go to school and equal gender rights). Compare these with the rights a Scout in another country might have.

Wed 20th February: No meeting - half term


Wed 27th February: Cardboard forts!


Wed 6th March: Pancakes


Wed 13th March: Hungry, hungry hippos (life size!)


Wed 20th March: Orienteering


Wed 27th March: Cooking challenge
Needs to inc meal, washing & drying

Wed 3rd April: Bush tucker trials, badges & investiture